Alberta Bulletin

Alberta Bulletin

Scott Meers wins the 2018 Farmtech Award

Alberta Canola congratulates Scott Meers on receiving the 2018 FarmTech Award for his outstanding contributions to the cropping sector of agriculture in Alberta. Scott is the Insect Pest Management Specialist for Alberta Agriculture & Forestry and is responsible for Alberta’s Insect Pest Monitoring Network.

Scott has been helping Alberta’s canola growers understand and manage insect pressure while increasing awareness and knowledge of the many beneficial insects at work in canola fields. Scott often speaks at Alberta Canola events including canolaPALOOZA, canoLAB, and on the Powering Your Profits Tour.

Rick Tallieu and Scott Meers
Rick Taillieu of Alberta Canola presents Scott Meers with the FarmTech Award and a George Clayton Photography print.

Thank you to Greg Sears & Steve Marshman

Greg Sears

The board of Alberta Canola would like to thank outgoing directors Greg Sears and Steve Marshman for all the hard work they have done on behalf of Alberta canola farmers.

Greg joined the board in 2012 and held many positions including Alberta representative to the Canola Council of Canada. Greg was chair for the last two years and the board has greatly appreciated his steady hand at the helm and his unflappable demeanor.

Steve Marshman

Steve joined the board in 2015 and represented farmers’ interests at the Clean Air Strategic Alliance. Steve brought a wealth of business experience to the board and this will be missed.

Both men were also heavily involved in presenting farmers’ opinions to the government during Bill 6 consultations.

Once again, the board would like to thank Greg and Steve for their service and dedication, and a special thank you to their families for sharing them for the advancement of our remarkable industry. All the best in the future!

Alberta Canola elects new chair and new vice-chair

Alberta Canola’s 28th Annual General Meeting was held January 30 at the FarmTech Conference in Edmonton. Following the meeting Renn Breitkreuz of Onoway was elected as Chair, and John Guelly of Westlock was elected Vice-Chair.

Joining the board are Andre Harpe of Valhalla Centre, who replaces Greg Sears of Sexsmith for Region 1, and Ian Chitwood of Airdrie, who replaces Steve Marshman of Strathmore in Region 8.

Back L-R: Dale Uglem, Bawlf; Ian Chitwood, Airdrie; Cale Staden, Vermilion; Kevin Serfas, Turin; Dan Doll, Fairview; Denis Guindon, Falher
Front L-R: Brian Hildebrand, Foremost; John Mayko, Mundare; Andre Harpe, Valhalla Centre; Renn Breitkreuz, Onoway; John Guelly, Westlock; Mike Ammeter, Sylvan Lake

Tax Credit for the 2017 Tax Year Open to Alberta Canola Producers

Canola growers in Alberta that do not request a refund of their check off from the Alberta Canola Producers Commission qualify for a tax credit for the 2017 tax year. The Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) tax credit allows canola growers to claim the tax credit for that portion of the check off paid that was used to fund qualifying research. For full details visit

Save the Date!

canolaPALOOZA returns to Lacombe June 27, 2018.

What is canolaPALOOZA, you ask? It’s a day that brings the best research and agronomy extension experts from across the country into one field in Alberta, for a day of interactive, hands-on, in-field learning where you move through learning stations and demos at your own pace. To learn more about this unique event visit

KEEP UP TO DATE. Receive the latest news, media releases and daily
grain prices when you subscribe to the Alberta Canola Connections Newsletter.

Visit today.

Canola Digest - March 2018