Alberta Bulletin

Alberta Bulletin

Alberta Canola elects new chair and new vice-chair

Alberta Canola’s 29th Annual General Meeting was held January 29 at the FarmTech Conference in Edmonton. Following the meeting, John Guelly of Westlock was elected as chair, and Kevin Serfas of Turin was elected vice-chair.

Roger Chevraux of Killam was elected from the floor of the Annual General Meeting, and Wayne Schneider of Nisku was acclaimed during the October election period. They began their first terms as directors following the Annual General Meeting.

Back L-R: Ian Chitwood, Airdrie; Roger Chevraux, Killam; Kevin Serfas, Turin; Wayne Schneider, Nisku; Cale Staden, Vermilion; Dan Doll, Fairview
Front L-R: Denis Guindon, Falher; Andre Harpe, Valhalla Centre; John Guelly, Westlock; John Mayko, Mundare; Mike Ammeter, Sylvan Lake

Tax Credit for the 2017 Tax Year Open to Alberta Canola Producers

Canola growers in Alberta that do not request a refund of their check off from the Alberta Canola Producers Commission qualify for a tax credit for the 2018 tax year.

The Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) tax credit allows canola growers to claim the tax credit for that portion of the check-off paid that was used to fund qualifying research.

The tax credit rate for Alberta canola producers in 2018 is 17.43 percent. For example, if an individual grower paid $100.00 in chec-off to Alberta Canola in 2018, $17.43 is the eligible amount to be earned as the tax credit.

Individual producers must file a T2038 (IND). Farm corporations must file form T2SCH31. For full details visit

Thank you to outgoing directors

Alberta Canola would like to thank outgoing directors Renn Breitkreuz, Dale Uglem and Brian Hildebrand for all the hard work they have done on behalf of Alberta Canola Farmers.

Renn joined the board in 2014 and served on a variety of board committees, and represented Alberta Canola on the Canadian Canola Growers Association (CCGA) board as well as vice-chair and chair of the board.

Dale joined the board in 2016 and served on the grower relations & extension committee and research committee, represented Alberta Canola on the board of the CCGA and served as chair of the FarmTech planning committee.

Brian joined the board in 2017 and served on the research committee and government & industry affairs committee.Once again, the board would like to thank Renn, Dale and Brian for their service and dedication, and a special thank you to their families for sharing them for the advancement of our remarkable industry. All the best in the future!

Visit for more information on the Board of Directors, the committees that guide the board, and Alberta Canola’s regions.

Farmtech award for 2019 presented to ACIDF

The 2019 FarmTech Award for outstanding contribution to Alberta’s cropping industry was awarded to the Alberta Crop Industry Development Fund Ltd. (ACIDF).

During its life, ACIDF provided investment of over $111 million to projects that promote and enhance the competitiveness of the crop industry in Alberta through leadership in industry research, innovation and marketing initiatives.

This past year, ACIDF Ltd. wound down, but its legacy of research investment has propelled Alberta’s cropping sector forward.

Clarence Assenheimer, the final chair of ACIDF, accepts the FarmTech award.

canolaPALOOZA 2019

The 5th annual canolaPALOOZA returns to the Lacombe Research & Development Centre on Wednesday, June 26.

canolaPALOOZA is hosted by Alberta Canola, the Canola Council of Canada and Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada.

There really is nothing like canolaPALOOZA. With over 100 experts spread across more than 25 learning stations… there really is an expert answer for every canola question.

The event is free to attend, and you set your own schedule as you visit the learning stations of your choice – and all at your own pace.

Registration opens in May. If interested in sponsoring canolaPALOOZA 2019, contact Rick Taillieu at

Canola Digest - March 2019